Skip to content


An association founded in 1983

Academic society founded in 1983, the Charles Gide Association aims at promoting research works and education activities in history of economic thought, economic theories compared, methodology, epistemology and economic philosophy.

It aims at being a place of meetings, exchanges of arguments and information for researchers and all those whose interests meet these domains of interest, without any doctrinal exclusion, any theoretical or epistemological biases.

Why Charles Gide?

Charles Gide (1847-1932) fully belongs to the type of the committed economist/political commited economist: supporter of Dreyfus, driving force of French cooperative institutions, leader of the international cooperative Union, thinker of social economy, President of the social Christianity movement, Vice-President of the Human Rights League, Professor at the Paris Law University, Professor at the College de France, founder of the Revue d’Economie Politique, … His participations in the debates and fights of his century came with his works and his commitments about theory and teaching political economy. His work was “literally monumental”: 4,000 writings have been inventoried.

Charles Gide’s writtings (12 volumes) have been published by L’Harmattan between 1999 an 2010, under the scientific direction of Marc Pénin [President of the Charles Gide Association from 1993 until 1996]. Among his books, two must be pointed out: his Principles of Political Economy (reedited 26 times during his lifetime, translated in 19 languages) and The History of Economic Doctrines from the Time of the the Physiocrats to the Present Day. This last book travelled down the ages and stood out in the teaching of history of economic thought in France. He wrote it with Charles Rist in 1909. Dalloz editions published in 2000 a reproduction of the 6th edition (1942), augmented with a preface by Annie L. Cot [President of the Charles Gide Association from 1996 until 1999] and Jérôme Lallement.

Charles Gide’s name was retained to name an association of economists willing to stay open on the history of their discipline, without dismissing anything, without neglecting anything and without forgetting that any effort of research in economics is always part of the world.

For more details, please consult the biography of Charles Gide, Charles Gide 1847-1932 L'esprit critique, published in the introduction of his Writings, and the following link (both in French).

Presidents of the Association Charles Gide

  • Marc Pénin (1983-1989 and 1993-1996)
  • Jacques Wolff (†) (1989-1993)
  • Annie Cot (1996-1999)
  • Ragip Ege (1999-2001)
  • Jean-Pierre Potier (2001-2003)
  • Ramon Tortajada (2003-2007)
  • Alain Clément (†) (2007-2011)
  • Arnaud Orain (2012-2015)
  • Rebeca Gomez Betancourt (2015-2016)
  • Sylvie Rivot (2016-2020)
  • Alexandra Hyard (2020-2023)
  • François Allisson (2023-)
Skip to content